Where is the French West Indies located?

Where is the French West Indies located?

the Caribbean
The term French West Indies or French Antilles (French: Antilles françaises) refers to the part of France located in the Antilles islands of the Caribbean: The two overseas departments of: Guadeloupe, including the islands of Basse-Terre, Grande-Terre, Les Saintes, Marie-Galante, and La Désirade.

Which Caribbean islands were French?

The idyllic French islands of Guadeloupe and Martinique remain best-kept secrets among North American travelers. Since both destinations were untouched by Hurricanes Irma and Maria, now is the perfect time to discover why mountainous Martinique and the Guadeloupe archipelago are considered jewels of the Caribbean.

Who owns the French West Indies?

These territories are under the direct control of the French Republic and are administered as overseas departments and collectivities. The Guadeloupe archipelago and Martinique are the two overseas departments and regions of France.

Is St Lucia part of France?

It covers a land area of 617 km2 (238 square miles) and reported a population of 165,595 in the 2010 census. Its capital is Castries. Soufrière was colonized by the French and was the original capital of the island. The French were the first Europeans to settle on the island….

Saint Lucia
Internet TLD .lc

Is Haiti French?

Haiti, whose population is almost entirely descended from African slaves, won independence from France in 1804, making it the second country in the Americas, after the United States, to free itself from colonial rule.

Is Martinique part of the US?

Martinique, island and overseas territorial collectivity of France, in the eastern Caribbean Sea. It is included in the Lesser Antilles island chain.

Does Haiti speak French?

Role in society. Although both French and Haitian Creole are official languages in Haiti, French is often considered the high language and Haitian Creole as the low language in the diglossic relationship of these two languages in society.

Which countries make West Indies?

Three major physiographic divisions constitute the West Indies: the Greater Antilles, comprising the islands of Cuba, Jamaica, Hispaniola (Haiti and the Dominican Republic), and Puerto Rico; the Lesser Antilles, including the Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Antigua and Barbuda, Montserrat, Guadeloupe.